An N of 1 — subjective feedback

Tom C W
5 min readDec 2, 2022

On my run today I was listening to an excellent podcast about Running (very meta I know). This particular episode focused on using subjective feedback for improving performance rather than only relying on objective feedback in complex adaptive systems (in this case, humans).

We live in a time of wearable technology, with smart watches that can measure all manner of things used by millions of people everyday. And along with the wearable technology are a variety of tools and apps to explore some of the data collected by the technology. I myself have a Garmin watch and have subscriptions to both Strava and TrainingPeaks.

If you explore each of the different tools you will invariably find something which indicates your ‘Fitness’ score. Each has a different algorithm to take data from your wearable and provide you with a fitness score. But is it really indicating my fitness? And does it actually indicate that I am in a better position to perform how I hope to?

Invariably the fitness score is in fact a score based upon a training load. More training load = a higher fitness score. And yes, in general, training more, will most likely improve fitness. A positive trend on a fitness…

--

--

Tom C W

Do Good, Be Awesome. Thoughts on startups, social change, awesome things, and possibly running.